Tags

, , , , ,

One of my morning rituals is to browse a bit and catch up with the news and events going on around me and far away from me with some coffee kind of like they used to do at the breakfast table with the morning newspaper. This ritual also includes a bit of email browsing to see what has come in via blogs, subscriptions, etc.  Two things popped up this morning; one more important than the other but both equally notable.

The first thing was an article about the cheating going on at Harvard where 125 students were charged.  Many of those students felt like they were being punished for collaborating.  This article by Sarah Green raises many good points and explains a different perspective with regard to “cheating.”  Here is the link to the article entitled “Cheating at Harvard, and in the ‘Real World'” http://blogs.hbr.org/hbr/hbreditors/2012/09/cheating_at_harvard_and_in_the.html?referral=00563&cm_mmc=email-_-newsletter-_-daily_alert-_-alert_date&utm_source=newsletter_daily_alert&utm_medium=email&utm_campaign=alert_date.

Another of my stops tends to be at Lifehacker where I find some very helpful and interesting things at times.  This morning, there was a post about how to respond to annoying and rude emails.  It contained a quote that I wanted to remember and share with others.  I am sharing it here but I will also link to the article in case you’d like to read the whole thing.  Here’s the quote followed by the link:

I’m open to hearing what you have to say and having a discussion about it, but I have a policy of ignoring people who take a malicious approach to conversation. I felt something that you said fell under this heading, and if you’d like to try again with a kinder approach, I’d be happy to have a conversation with you. 

http://lifehacker.com/5940640/how-can-i-deal-with-rude-emails.

This is a suggested response to a rude email to someone whom I am supposing that you either have to talk with or ultimately want to talk with.  Either way, the great thing about this is that it acknowledges the rude tone, allows the rude email sender to apologize (especially if they did not realize how their email came across) and keeps the dialogue open.  It is honest and fair communication.

There is more to the article than the quote I posted here.  You might want to check it out.  In the meantime, have a good week!

