Tags

, , ,

Last night I dreamt of Sting.  For this post, an important fact about him that you need to know is that he was born in 1951 as reported by Wikipedia.  That makes him 61 years old.

In my dream Sting was doing jumping jacks and all manner of physical activities as though he were a poster boy for health, wellness, and vibrancy.  If he had spoken, he might have said something about how he could take on a 20 year old in some physical activity and come out just as well or better.  That might have been true depending on the 20 year old, but my dream was not completely about the energy of Sting. My dream probably had more to do with age, relationships and being a single woman and finding a partner than anything else.

At some point in time, single women have to decide what their boundaries and limits are.  Am I willing to date someone who is 19 or 20 years my senior and won’t that be too much like dating my father (yuck)?  Or, am I willing to date someone who is 19 or 20 years my junior and won’t that be too much like dating my own son or nephew (also yuck)?  How about 10 years older or 10 years younger?  And, why does 10 years older seem so much more acceptable than 10 years younger?  But, maybe 5 years either way would be much more comfortable.

Then, of course, there is the thought:  Am I being too picky?  If I start to care about someone who is 13 years my senior or my junior will I be willing to say that it is too far past the arbitrary age line that I’ve set up?

It’s all hypothetical at the moment but it seems a consideration that I need to admit is there.  If it is in my dreams, then it may be something to pay attention to as an issue that is troubling me and is unresolved.  It is an issue that might be stopping me from a good potential relationship.  Indecision and uncertainty do not make confidence for going forward.

So, what do I do?  The only thing I can do at the moment.  I set it aside as an issue to deal with later when it is more immediate and maybe clearer.

* This is life *

 

