Tags

, , , ,

Image Credit: David Castillo Dominici

As my sister and I were watching a snippet of the Olympic events taking place in London, she noticed the abbreviation CIV on the statistics.  She asked me if I knew what CIV stood for.  I had to admit that I didn’t know what CIV meant.  I could guess at the CI part (Cayman Islands, Canary Islands …) but the V part?  I had no idea.  I had to look it up to find out.  There is a listing of countries and their abbreviations here:  http://geography.about.com/od/countryinformation/a/olympiccodes.htm.

For a real learning moment:  ask yourself where the countries are on the list, see if you know, and go look it up to see if you were right.  If you’ve got kids and they are interested in the Olympics and you want to “expand their horizons,” here’s your chance to make a game of it.

So, what does CIV mean?  Cote D’Ivorie.  To those of us in the United States:  that’s the Ivory Coast in West Africa.

** The globe image by David Castillo Dominici can be found at:
http://www.freedigitalphotos.net/images/Other_Travel_g166-Collection_Of_Earth_Globes_p65908.html

