I am coming out of a long spell in which I did not read anything for my own pleasure but rather things for education and advancement of some goal or another.  Today, I read a book and I remembered the pleasure of nearly non-stop page turning.  I don’t want this to end again so I’ve made a commitment to make time to read for myself selfishly, without reserve, and only for pleasure’s sake.

There is never a waste of time in reading.  Reading fiction has quite a few benefits.  I soak up words and structures without knowing it and without any hard, intentional focus.  I am still learning but the learning is so much easier when it happens naturally instead of being forced.

Goodbye deprivation.  Goodbye guilt.  I hereby acknowledge the goodness in reading whatever I’d like and promise never to forget that particular pleasure again or place it aside for some other activity.

