Tags

, , , ,

I found out that I have been guilty of being inefficient for vain reasons.  I like things that look good.  If it doesn’t look that great but it means something to me, I’ll spend way too much time trying to get it to look the way that I want it to.  That’s good but it is also bad.

It’s good when I have all the time in the world to do it.  It’s not when I realistically can’t spare the time to play with the thing until it looks the way I want it to.

I fall into that time wasting trap often.  It’s not important that it looks good.  It is important that it works and saves me time.  I know this and yet I still mess around with it.  Except for this time.  This time, I caught what I was doing and I’m choosing not to go down that particular rabbit hole.

What am I talking about?  In this particular case, I have a couple of notebooks filled with notes, graphs, diagrams, and pictures from some of my previous classes that I know will probably come in handy in my upcoming studies.  As these notebooks are now, they are functional and efficient.  I can flip through them any time to find a particular piece of information.  The down side is that my notes aren’t the neatest things in the world.  They also aren’t in any type of digital format so they aren’t accessible everywhere.

My pitfall was thinking about how bad they looked and how I should redo them and put them into digital form.  It’s a good idea for several reasons but I’m starting to think it is only a good idea based upon certain contingencies:  that I don’t have more important and valuable things to do with my time.  The bang for the time buck just isn’t there.

So, I slipped but I saved myself and learned a good lesson too.  Beauty, as in organized notes copied neatly and placed into a cute binder, is both pleasing and emotionally helpful but if it functions as it is and there are more important and efficiency impactful things to do, I’m better off sacrificing the beauty and leaving the thing as is — not so pretty but efficient and functional.

