Tags

, , , ,

Image from istockphoto.com

A former professor of mine posted a list of songs on his ipod.  He basically had an eclectic mix of songs (which I think is pretty normal) since songs sometimes mean different things for different people or songs could have no meaning whatsoever at all for the person.  They may like the sound of the music; the words; the sound of the music and the sounds of the voice only; or, a song could be a place marker for a certain time or a certain place.  For some songs that I have on my phone (a Blackberry by the way), they signify a certain age, a certain year, or a certain place where I once lived.  Sometimes its more simple and at other times my choices are more complex.  I imagine that for most people, it is the same way.  He just needs to browse other people’s playlists more often and I think he’ll see.

Anyway, if you’d put my phone on shuffle here are some of the recordings I have on my Blackberry.  I haven’t transferred all my music or recordings I want to listen to over.  I still have some on CD, some on my laptop, and some on my Kindle that haven’t made it yet to my phone.  The title is first and artist is second.

1.  My Antonia by Willa Cather, Book 3, Chapter 1

2.  Kryptonite, 3 Doors Down

3.  A Bad Goodbye, Clint Black & Wynona

4.  Rehab, Amy Winehouse & Jay Z

5.  Apologize, One Republic

6.  At Last, Etta James

7.  Atomic Dog, George Clinton

8.  Back In Black, AC/DC

9.  Staying Alive Techno Remix, BeGees

10. Better than Me, Hinder

11.  Save a Cowboy, Big & Rich

12.  Everybody Wants You, Billy Squier

13.  Breathe, Faith Hill

14. Bring Me to Life, Evanescence

15.  Burning Down The House (Remastered Version), Talking Heads

16.  Celebration, Kool & The Gang

17.  Ten Days in a Mad House, Chapter 3, Nelly Bly

18. Cherish, Kool & The Gang

19.  Chrome, VNV Nation

20.  Lover’s Bridge, 2002

21.  Take You There, Sean Kingston

22.  Nervous Shakedown, AC/DC

23.  No Apologies, Eminem

24.  Paralyzer, Finger Eleven

25.  Phat Bass (Blade Remix), Warp Brothers & Aquagen

26.  Play that Funky Music, Wild Cherry

27.  Poker Face, Lady GaGa

28.  Rays of Light, 2002

29.  Rock of Ages, Def Leppard

30.  Set Adrift on Memory Bliss, PM Dawn

31.  If Today Was Your Last Day, Nickelback

32. Il Volo, Zucchero

33.  Jump On It, Sir Mix-A-Lot

34.  Kiss Me Like That, Toby Keith

35.  Landing in London, 3 Doors Down

36.  Losing My Religion, REM

37.  Love Remains the Same, Gavin Rossdale

38.  The Adventures of Grandmaster Flash & The Wheels of Steel, Grandmaster Flash & the Furious Five

39.  Rock the Casbah, The Clash

40.  The Reason, Hoobastank

41.  Track 1 (I didn’t name it), Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

42.  Red, Red Wine Wicked Remix, UB40 & Bob Marley

43.  Viva La Vida, ColdPlay

44.  The Way I Are, Timbaland

45.  Should Have Been A Cowboy, Toby Keith

46.  Sexual Healing, Marvin Gaye

47.  Smooth, Rob Thomas & Santana

48.  Somewhere With You, Kenny Chesney

49.  Sunrise (Motivo Hi-Lectro Mix), Simply Red

50.  Symphony No 9 (Sherzo), Beethoven, Seattle Symphony Orchestra

51.  Everything, Michael Buble

52.  Fields of Gold, Sting

53.  Finally Home, Mercy Me

54.  Freak-a-Zoid, Midnight Star

55.  Hollaback Girl Remix, Gwen Stefani

56.  If Everyone Cared, Nickelback

57.  Don’t Dream It’s Over, Crowded House

68.  Missionary Man, Eurythmics

69.  Desert Rose, Melodic Club Remix, Sting

70.  Everybody Dance Now, C&C Music Factory

71.  Click Click Boom, Saliva

72.  Ever The Same, Rob Thomas

73.  Hold On Loosely, 38 Special

74.  Hot in Here, Nelly

75. Where it’s At, Beck

76.  Will You Still Love Me Tomorrow, Amy Winehouse

77.  Pour Some Sugar On Me, Def Leppard

You might be able to tell a bit from the list but you wouldn’t be able to tell everything from a song list.  To truly understand anyone’s song list, you’d have to ask them to explain each song and what it means for them or what they use it for.

Enjoy this for what it’s worth.

 

 

