For several weeks we went without rain.  Large sections of grass turned brown, delicate ferns became crunchy fossils, newly planted vegetables gave up the ghost, and plants and trees that were between delicate and hardy showed signs of a premature fall as their leaves turned from green to orange and then to brown.  Some survived and remained green.

copyright-free-images.comNow, it rains.  Too late for the plants that couldn’t hold out.  Good, however, for the plants that did make it but had some damage.  Better for the plants that stayed green despite the lack of rain.

I hear from friends that there are still places that have not had rain yet — the Midwest in particular.  The place where plenty of farmers live by growing food and producing products like milk, cheese, butter, pork and beef for us.  Pray for them.  Pray for us.  Pray for the animals who must suffer too.

It’s not possible but if I had the power, I’d be willing to share some rain.  I’d adopt a yard, a farm, any plot of land and pipe some of my rain water to them.  Too bad I don’t have the resources to do something like that.  For what it’s worth … my heart is there.

 

